Punk Rock HR blogger Laurie Ruettimann has a post up at Cheezhead on “Biggest Loser”-style weight-loss competitions in the workplace. You will no doubt be shocked to learn that I am completely opposed to these moralistic, irritating distractions that are hostile to fat people and people with eating disorders, and also encourage unhealthy crash dieting tactics (and I would bet are even less effective in terms of health and especially long-term weight loss than “normal” diets, which is saying something). The paranoid side of me also wonders if these “voluntary” competitions are a stepping stone to requiring workers to lose weight as a condition of employment. Anyway, I agree 100% with what Laurie wrote and submitted a comment (which is currently in moderation, but it says basically what I’m saying here) to that effect. Check it out!

