A friend sent me this article, and I am freaked out:

Megachurches? Check. Homophobia? Check. Angry misogyny (um, I mean bemoaning the plight of men in the church and making women’s submission to their husbands a central tenet of your theology)? Check.

The mainstream church, Driscoll has written, has transformed Jesus into “a Richard Simmons, hippie, queer Christ,” a “neutered and limp-wristed popular Sky Fairy of pop culture that . . . would never talk about sin or send anyone to hell.”

Seriously, people of Seattle? You aren’t smarter than this? What a load of hateful crap. I didn’t think the modern megachurch could get any worse, but here we are. I guess at least he doesn’t backpedal or attempt to conceal his bigotry, so you know what you’re dealing with. That’s sort of refreshing. I guess.

And is it just me, or does every new heavily-marketed pop culture worship style pride itself on being the only one that tolerates “outcasts”? I bet if you walked into Rick Warren’s church with tattoos and piercings they’d be thrilled to acquire the bad-ass cred.

